jungbok sikdang

mogumogu_111216.jpg

So when we bought sweet potatoes at the huge conventional market in eastern Seoul, we grabbed lunch before heading home. There was a small alley with a handful of indoor and outdoor restaurants and bakeries. We chose a typical jiggae restaurant. I ordered the soondubu jiggae and my foodie partner went with cheonggukjang (like a stronger daenjang jiggae).

My order included a big bowl of rice with a fried egg while my partner’s didn’t. I was confused at first because I thought she got my order wrong. But with the soondubu jiggae, you could use the banchan and bibim sauce bottle at the table to make bibimbap. It was too much food for me but everything tasted so fresh that I couldn’t stop eating! Since the ingredients come directly from the market, everything is more fresh compared to a regular restaurant.

Maybe it was because I was hungry, but it was one of the best meals I had eaten so far. I can’t wait to go again soon but it’s hard for us to access by subway and the car situation can be a mess by noon.


東ソウルの市場でさつまいもを買った時、帰る前にお昼を食べました。小さい路地にレストラン、屋台、パン屋が少しありました。私たちは定番のチゲレストランを選びました。私はスンドゥブチゲ、彼はチョングッチャン(濃いテンジャンチゲみたいなもの)を注文。

私のチゲと一緒に大きいボールにご飯と卵焼きが付いてきました。彼のにはなかったから、最初は私の注文が間違えたと思いました。でもスンドゥブチゲにはテーブルにあるパンチャンと甘辛ソースでビビンバもたべれます。食べ物の量は多かったけど、新鮮な味が美味しくて手が止まらない!材料が直接市場からくるので、やっぱり普段のレストランより美味しいです。

お腹が空いてたのかもしれないけど、今まで一番美味しい食事でした。早いうちにまた行きたいけど、私たちには電車では行きづらくて午後には道路が混雑。

Leave a Reply

