simmered pumpkin

yowayowa_012717.jpg

simmered pumpkin

In Japan, simmered pumpkin or kabocha no nimono is a common winter side dish. When I was living on my own in New York, I started making this since it reminded me of the food I would eat growing up. I always thought it would be hard to make but it’s not. Just make sure to use Japanese kabocha since American pumpkin does not taste good. Whenever I make pumpkin sweets I always use Japanese kabocha too.


かぼちゃの煮物

ニューヨークで一人暮らしを始めた時、煮物をよく作っていました。サラダとかに飽きてたので、もう少しちゃんとしたものが食べたくて。実家でよくかぼちゃの煮物を食べてた思い出があったので、難しいと思ってたけど、案外簡単ですね。ホクホクしてて冬の季節が来た感じがします。

Leave a Reply

